Teacher of the Year Winners for 2019-2020

Russ Bibens - 2/4/2020

There are three categories for Teacher of the Year.
Grade 9-12 Winner:
Douglas Heavisides is the Director of Hartford Area Career & Technology Center in White River Junction. He is sponsored by White River VFW Post 2571 and it’s auxiliary.
Grade 6-8 Winner:
Taylor Goodland is a 7th & 8th grade teacher at St. Albans Town Education Center in St. Albans. He is sponsored by St. Albans Post 758 post and it’s auxiliary.   
Grade K-5 Winner:
Alison Sylvester is a 5th grade teacher at Union Street School in Springfield VT. She is sponsored by Springfield VFW Post 771 and it’s auxiliary.
Click on name to read salutation:

Statewide News

News & Info from your department

Department of Vermont Patriot's Pen Winner Announced for 2023

Charlotte Hourdequin sponsored by White River Post 2571, White River Junction Vermont has been selected to represent the Department of Vermont in the 2022-23 Patriot’s Pen Essay Contest.

Department of Vermont Voice of Democracy Winner Announced for 2023

Amelia Partlow sponsored by Charles P. DaPraot Post 778, Swanton Vermont has been selected to represent the Department of Vermont in the 2022-23 Voice of Democracy Audio-Essay Contest.

National News

Important info from National VFW

VFW Delegation Returns to Southeast Asia

BANGKOK - Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW) Commander-in-Chief Tim Borland and a VFW delegation arrived in Thailand for the first leg...

VFW Proudly Sponsors Bataan Memorial Death March

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Marking its 13th consecutive year of support, the Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW) is proud to announce it is the...